Megan’s List of Awesome Films: COUNTDOWN (40-31)

Ahh Day 2 of the top 50 films.

Are you ready? Things are about to get a whole lot more interesting…… here come the next 10 films I think you shouldn’t miss.

Number 40:

Super-Size Me
Directed by: Morgan Spurlock
(2004)

For me, Morgan Spurlock really brought back the documentary. This film made over $10 million in the box office and he deserved it! Morgan Spurlock shows true dedication for the forgotten genre. For a month straight all this poor man does, is eat McDonalds. Breakfast, lunch and dinner – all Maccie D’s. Then he documents his diminishing health, just to ram home to us how bad for you the fast food industry is. If that isn’t showing care and concern for the country I don’t know what is! If you want to be put off McDonalds watch this. If you want to watch a man suffer from eating McDonalds, watch this. In fact, just watch it. Okay?

Number 39:

Umberto D.
Directed by: Vittorio De Sica
(1952)

The second of De Sica’s neorealist films. Although Umberto isn’t as good a protagonist as Antonio in De Sica’s first film, The Bicycle Thieves, I still love this film. Neorealism is a cruel movement. I can’t really explain it to you without giving the plot away, but all I can say is it really depicts the truth and depression of post-war Italy.

Oh and the Dog is really cute 😉

Number 38:

Un Chien Andalou
Directed by: Luis Bunuel
(1929)

What a weird film. Do you want to watch it now I’ve said that? It’s on Youtube.com. You have no reason to not give it 5 seconds. In fact, if you watch the opening sequence you WILL see the Best/worst bit of the film and after that you’ll be trapped for the remaining 15 minutes or so. Warning: this film isn’t for the squeamish.

Number 37:

The Tree of Wooden Clogs
Directed by: Ermanno Olmi
(1978)

A beautifully, slow paced film. It’s kind of a documentary, but at the same time, it isn’t because they’re all actors. And, there is a slight sense of story. . . it’s almost as if we’ve been transported back in time to the beginning of the century on an Italian farm. Another warning should be posted for the squeamish as there is quite a few deaths of real live animals. . . well they’re not alive anymore… poor things. Some people call this ‘the most boring film ever made,’ I think if you’re going to call it that then you haven’t watched it properly.

Number 36:

Tombstone
Directed by: George P. Cosmatos
(1993)

Ok, so this isn’t the most famous western ever made but it’s my favourite. Probably because I kind of fancy Val Kilmer when he was at his peak… However, putting Val Kilmer’s beauty aside, Tombstone still stands out as one of the most iconic Western of all time. It typifies it’s genre as well as being brilliantly written, “I’ve got two guns, one for the each of ya.” – you need to watch the film now just to get the joke !

hot….

Number 35:

Trust
Directed by: Hal Hartley
(1990)

This film is what introduced the genius director Hal Hartley to me. I can’t quite describe it. In some ways, it’s kind of dark… in other ways it’s a story of romance. Not quite true love. It’s definitely about trust… Some beautifully characterized people come to life right before you and the wonderful colours and slight twists pull the audience into this beautifully told story.

Number 34:

Thelma and Louise
Directed by: Ridley Scott

(1991)

I didn’t know Ridley Scott directed this film until now. I have a new found respect for Ridley. I kind of like to shout “girl power” during this film. For once we have a film that is about women. Women, women, women. We love women. Power to the women. I just feel empowered watching this film… in a way, but not for long… it frustrates me because if this film had been about men I guarantee they’d have got away and lived happily ever after with sexy model wives. Oh well. Us women are grounded and… uh… aren’t afraid of death. Hell no! We face it, we hold each other’s hand and say ‘go on’ and accelerate towards it, just like Thelma and Louise did.

Number 33:

24 Hour Party People
Directed by: Michael Winterbottom
(2002)

This is a very clever film. I literally just watched it… and I’m in awe of its technological intelligence. I really am. I feel slightly confused as to whether I just watched a film from 2002 or from the 70s. High five to Michael Winterbottom. (hehe). Basically, what they do is, make Tony Wilson (Steve Coogan) and his gang look like they were there at the time of real bands from the 70s etc, by combining insert footage of gigs at the time and constructing a setting that mimicked what we see in the insert footage… it’s so hard to explain, please just promise me you’ll watch this one.

Number 32:

A Clockwork Orange
Directed by: Stanley Kubrick

(1991)

It took me 3 attempts to watch this. First time round I saw the rape scene, cringed myself into an oblivion and turned it off. The second time I got up to the bit when they’re breaking into the woman’s house, all the phallic statues and god knows what else had me creeped out and I found myself turning it off and putting in a rom-com to calm my nerves. However, on my final attempt I got all the way through and I must say, despite its dark and twisted storyline, Kubrick has portrayed it as it is meant to be portrayed with his own disturbing touch as an added bonus.

Number 31:

The Future
Directed by: Miranda July
(2011)

I hadn’t been to the cinema in a long time in November so I thought I’d go to my local Arts Picture House and see what was on. I knew I had enjoyed some of Miranda July’s short stories so when I saw she had another film out I knew I had to see it. The characters are the most memorable and lovable. The storyline is artistic, clever and gripping. I even nearly found myself crying – ah I am a hopeless romantic though. In the beginning it seems like a straight forward film about a slightly odd couple, except, one key difference: it’s narrated by a cat… and then about half way through things suddenly take a…in search of a better word, magical twist. There is a lot of skipping back and forth in time and the moon even learns to talk! A must see. Miranda July never lets ya down!

Leave a Reply

