The Dreading March – Inspired by Auden’s Miss. Gee.

Wait outside, quite chilling and unwell-
“coming, please hold” but it takes too long
and now I’m hot and cold
yet I don’t know what’s coming
When I’m sat and told:

He takes a breath…

“This will last all life until for-
ever thought how you will cope?
I am a doctor and I know all the ropes”
Staring at me in a big, long, tall, white coat
And I’m very, very scared

I take a breath…

“It’s not me, take me to the ex-
It wasn’t meant to be, I’m young
I’ve just got lots of aches and pains”
but they tie me down tight
with very black and heavy chains.

I can’t breathe…

I’m carried off to another hospit-
all covered up, just another mental block
and now I’m quite anxious
as they plaster up my body, just incase
I might be ..

Able to breathe

2 thoughts on “The Dreading March – Inspired by Auden’s Miss. Gee.

Leave a Reply

